top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLexi

Strong as a 3 year old?



A little while ago there was a post going around my mom group that said, "Those moments you hope your child's sass will help them lead a company and not a gang in prison". I had never read something so unbelievably accurate and also frightening in my life. My daughter is 3 and already has somehow accumulated more sass in that tiny little body then I have in my 23 years. She is small but oh so mighty.


If looks could kill, my daughter would of killed me more times then I can count. I'm telling you, don't let that cute smile and halo over her head fool you. My girl can turn it on and off as quick as the weather likes to change in Illinois.


Sometimes I find it hard to repermand her when she gets into these "fits". The things she says are so ridiculously hilarious, I don't know whether to laugh or tell her no. She finds great enjoyment in saving her worst moods for me. After all, I am mom. I'm her safe haven and for now I will love and appreciate that for what it is. Although it may of aged me more years then I would like to admit. It's no wonder I don't get carded more times then not.


The other day she was picking a fight with me (I never thought I would say that about a 3 year old) about God knows what. Lets be honest though, it was probably because I told her the sky is blue today and she wanted it to be purple, and yes she has cried about that before (life is rough I know). My sister over heard her being sassy and polielty told her "Addie do not say that, be nice to your mom". And you know what my 3 year old said in return to that, "Don't talk to me, mind your own business Auntie Carly". She's 3. Lord HELP ME.


This girl has no problem speaking her mind. Whether it's telling people to "Mind their own business" or telling another 3 year old at school to "Do it yourself because you didn't listen to the teacher", she'll tell you like it is. And honestly, for the longest time I used to correct her and tell her to not say those things. But then I realized I shouldn't be. By telling her to not speak her mind, I'm silencing her voice, something unfortunately us women are all too well accustomed to.


It has taken me 23 years to realize I shouldn't be afraid to say what I am feeling. 23 years I let people walk all over me and just took it. But here is my 3 year old not putting up with anyone's s***. God love her. I see that sass you've got Addie. I see that determination, strong willed and independent personality. And to that I raise a glass. No matter how much those things may wear me to the core, keep them up. For you my darling have a bright future ahead of you and I know you won't let anyone take that away from you.



"And though she be but little, she is fierce" ~ William Shakespeare



227 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page